Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are controversial notions heating up a debate over the role of sports in society. While some people claim that sports play a paramount significance, others hold an idea that it is just a leisure pursuit. Although each has its own perk, I consider myself a proponent of the former. Without a shadow of a doubt, there is a wide range of reasons to think that sport is a recreational activity. It can help people chill out after a long stressful day with a heavy workload or nerve-racking exams on the grounds that it makes people concentrate on exercising instead of thinking about work. For instance, taking a leisurely stroll in a lush park is a ubiquitous amusement that Vietnamese people usually take up whenever they want to relieve stress. Hence, sport can be seen as an effective entertaining method for people. While the amusing role of sport is widely acknowledged, it is also imperative in society. By taking up sports either professionally or amateurly, people can enhance their physical health which make them more energetic and boost their productivity while working. In other words, it contributes to the economic growth of a country. For example, the Vietnamese government has installed free sport facilities such as treadmills or pull-up bars in all public gardens to encourage residents to do sports on a daily basis. Therefore, sports have a tremendously favorable influence on society. In conclusion, I think sport not only is an entertaining activity but also plays a paramount significant role in society.