In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

A recent study from Harvard Medical School found that the mean lifespan in the first world country has been dramatically rising in the last 30 years, from 65 years in 1980 to 75 years in 2020. While this finding clearly demonstrates the advantages of rapid improvements in public health, yet it has naturally created some issues for society in general. This essay will discuss some problems associated with this situation and explore potential solutions to mitigate the same. To begin with, the aged population will put a lot of burden on a country‘s economy. These seniors are mostly retired workers which no longer contributes to the economy, and governments will have to spend the taxpayers’ money on the medical care of these people. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, nations around the globe have to spend extra money to protect the seniors as the most vulnerable groups. In addition, this phenomenon might create a housing problem. As the population of old people grow, the demand for the housing rise and consequently increase the price of properties, which would be a problem for the young people. However, there are some steps that governments could consider to resolve the issue. First, the governments could extend retirement age standard. Many countries are having the standard pension age at the age of 55 years old, and they could extend the age into 60 or 65 years for seniors who are still in a healthy and prime condition. By making this move, it would reduce governments ’ social welfare budget for the retired people. Second, governments should levy higher property tax on wealthy seniors and use the additional revenue to provide a subsidy for the young people when they plan to buy a house. To conclude, the vast developments in public health has positively boosted the average life expectancy. However, this positive trend has caused some problems for communities, therefore it is necessary for governments to take certain in tacking the issue.