In some countries, children are often told that can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In present-day society, the norm anything is possible and achievable with hard work has become quite popular. However, in my opinion, it has its own sets of merits and demerits which I will be exploring in this essay. On the one hand, inculcating a sense of optimism within children to pursue their dreams relentlessly has often led them to believe in their potential. To give a clear example, when in school, the tutor of Thomas Alva Edison had given up on him, considering him an imbecile. However, his mother knew that her son had talent. Therefore, with lots of effort and,nurture she could enable him to achieve bigger things in life. He invented the bulb, which is the greatest invention of all time. Also, sometimes endeavours can surpass talent. For instance, a person blessed with a beautiful voice might not sing that well in comparison to a person practising singing daily. On the other hand, factors like luck, mental health, inborn abilities and current circumstances along with hard work determine the fruit of a person's time and dedication.To exemplify, for producing paintings like Picasso, an individual needs a genius and aesthetic bent of mind. No matter the endeavours, one might not achieve the same results. Moreover, only toil will not assist in reaping the benefits and this concept has to be engraved in a youngster’s mind to save them from feeling inadequate. For instance, comparing oneself to their role model but failing to reach similar goals can hit one's self-esteem. To sum up, it is highly imperative to introduce the concept of sheer effort but with practicality. Although, it is necessary to give your 100% but keep in mind that there are other components to it as well and not get disheartened and blame oneself for not being able to achieve it.