Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?Write 250 words.

Currently, there is a growing trend among parents to fulfil their children's demands and to give them as much freedom as they want. In my opinion, this child-rearing practice is detrimental to the development of children, and it will affect them in their adulthood. To begin with, over-indulgence can prevent children from acquiring important life skills. First, children who are granted every request can develop a dependence on their parents for everything, and this can deprive them of the motivation to strive hard in life and be independent. Second, when children have too much freedom they may get into bad things. For example, it is quite possible for them to get bad company and grow habits like smoking and drinking. They may get into illegal activities if they are not under the supervision of their parents. Children from lenient parents are likely to grow up with several negative personally traits. The first adverse effect is that children become self-centred with little consideration for the feelings of others, and they always put their priorities first. When they become adults they will find it difficult to work successfully in the team as they have not learned the importance of teamwork. Another disadvantage is that children who have had all of their wishes fulfilled by their parents will find it rather hard to deal with rejection, which they will eventually have to face as they enter adulthood. They will develop many personality disorders that will prevent them from having a normal life. To conclude, I strongly believe that parents who satisfy all the wishes of their children hurt their normal development by stopping them from learning important life skills. Also, children who are used to having all of their demands fulfilled are more likely to be selfish.