Many people nowadays spend a large of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the last decade, many people have widely debated about the usage of electronic devices. Some agree that they spend a lot of their leisure time using mobile phones. Personally, I believe this can be a negative trend and there could be several causes for this. One major reason for this development is the availability of many features and functionality of modern smartphones including social media, cameras, clocks, entertainment, and weather forecasts. Many people whenever they have free time, for instance, tend to scroll their phones to relax and unwind because they have many options. Another primary cause for this is addiction. Nowadays, the majority of youngsters seem to be addicted to various mobile games and apps. In their free time, for example, they want to play their favourite virtual game which they find a great pleasure. There are two major drawbacks to this trend. One of the main disadvantages is that this can significantly affect people's mental and physical well-being. Since they tend to use their mobiles for spending free time, rather than investing that time in exercise or any other hobbies such as gardening, cooking, swimming, and reading. Recent research shows that in the USA, most people tend to suffer from mental issues due to the extensive use of smartphones. Furthermore, this trend leads to a lack of human interactions. As many people allocate their free time to connect with their devices, they may not have time to have a conversation with their loved ones. As a result of this, face-to-face interactions might disappear and people may feel disconnected from each other. In conclusion, this essay discussed the main root causes of this trend and its impact on society. In my opinion, due to the extensive usage of smartphones not only negatively impacts people's health but also social interactions.