There have been major advances in technology over recent decades and this has led to significant improvements in people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions over whether the development of technology in contemporary society has increased a standard of living or not. Regarding this, I strongly believe that technology has facilitated people to live a better life as it has influenced various industries such as education and healthcare. There are cetrain reasons. Firstly, people have become healthier than before since medical thechnology has helped individuals deal with illnesses. By using various equipment such as sensitive apparatus and robots, doctors can do organ tranplantation, thereby leading to extended life span. What is more, the public are able to manage minor health issues such as diabetes and hypertension by themselves by checking blood sugar rates and blood pressure with technological devices. For example, a recent medical report would seem to suggest that almost 10% of lifespan has increased compared to 2 decades ago. As the example clearly illustrates, technology has played a key factor in improving healthy lifestyle. Secondly, the gap between the rich and the poor has decreased due to the chance that is provided everyone justifiably. In the past, some students who lived in developing countries could not go to school as a lack of schools and transportation. However, in this day and age, not only can the Internet contributes to students study remotely in other countries, but it may also brings about better educational chance among disabled children. For instance, a survey conducted by the Korea Educational Foundation has revealed that poor students have had more opportunities to make their future not to be worse. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that technology has reduced the disparity between poor group and rich group. In conclusion, there is no doubt to point out that techonolgy has increase the standard of living as people has become healtier and knowledgeable.