In many counteries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

The rate of people migrating from rural to urban areas has increased in multiple countries around the globe, which has led to a decline in their countryside population. I think this is a negative development as the decrease in rural population would negatively impact their facilities and agricultural work. Countryside residents would suffer from the lack of staff to run their various facilities such as schools, hospitals and clinics. In schools, as professional teachers are moving to the cities, seeking perhaps higher wages, the rural areas' schools wouldn't have enough members to educate the children there, subsequently this will affect their education level and put a burden on their parents to send them to further schools or homeschooling them. The same would happen in the hospitals and clinics, the shortage of doctors and nurses will put the residents, mostly senior citizens, in dangerous situations when they can't get proper medical care. These and more other facilities will be affected by the decrease in the countryside population. As for the impact on the agricultural field, the productivity of the agricultural lands in the countryside would fall down. As most of the residents are from the older generation, and because of the young workers shortage, it would be difficult to take care of their croplands and livestock. As a result, the crop yield and food supply would decrease. Moreover, the experience from the professional farmers would lost as there are not enough young people to be mentored. All of that would exert a negative impact on the agriculture growth. In conclusion, I believe that the drop in rural areas' population, due to the increased movement to the cities, is a negative trend affecting the performance of their schools, clinics and their agricultural land efficiency.