There have been major advances in technology over recent decades and this has led to significant improvements in people’s lives.

The advancement of technology over recent decades and the significant improvements it has contributed to people's lives can't be neglected. Such a trend has provided multifold benefits and negative downsides to society. This essay will discuss both sides of the aforementioned statement and provide reasons and examples to support the position. Above all else, I strongly agree that the trend of technology has made a tremendous stride in people's lives. On the one hand, the multifold benefits that technology has provided people with are significant, first and foremost, it has guaranteed the safety of workers in sectors such as construction. Secondly, the phenomenon has allowed workers to be more efficient with their tasks. This can be better demonstrated by examples of supercomputers. Supercomputers developed by IBM have allowed millions of combinations of calculations to be completed simultaneously. Thus, significantly reducing the time which can now be allocated to other resources and tasks. On the other hand, such a phenomenon has also significantly increased the security threat towards the members of the public. It is incontrovertible that technology is involved in even the smallest aspect of an individual's life. For instance, many applications and technology require providing personal information such as name, age, sex, location and even passport details. Therefore, if an individual with malicious intent manages to hack into the technology, tremendous amounts of personal information are at risk of being exploited. In conclusion, the major advancement in technology over recent decades have significantly improved people's lives. Although the drawbacks of such a trend still exist, the significant benefits that it brings can't be neglected. Consequently, I fully support that the development of technology has significantly improved the quality of life for many members of the public.