An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problem does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation?

More and more specialists are emigrating from their home nations which are economically less developed to the wealthier and more advanced nations seeking out greener pastures. This essay will first analyze the problems that can result from this, particularly in the poorer nations, as adversely affecting their progress, and then discuss what the government can do to solve this problem by improving working conditions of professionals, and motivating them through improved remunerations and other welfare packages. Addressing the main issues that can arise from this brain drain, it is the under-developed communities, which are losing their experts, that are badly affected. This is because these specialists contribute immensely to these nations ' economies and they are irreplaceable. Therefore, when these huge numbers of vital professionals exit the system, a large gulf is created, which may take years to mend. For example, in Nigeria, a current challenge being experienced particularly in its health sector, is the large migration of its doctors and nurses overseas, in a bid to seek greener pastures. This is having a serious negative impact on the health sector of the entire nation, especially in this time of COVID-19 pandemic, as the staff level keeps diminishing, leading to the remaining staff being extremely overworked. To solve these problems, the government has a major role to play. Two key areas that can be addressed are: improving the working condition of these specialists, and staff motivation through salary increments and other welfare packages. First, when professionals have up-to-date and ultra-modern facilities to work with, they can favourably compete with their counterparts in the developed clime and therefore, see no reason to emigrate. Additionally, their remuneration should also be made commensurate with what their colleague in the international communities are earning, this will further motivate them to stay over in their home countries and help to develop it. Other welfare packages such as sending them for overseas training to improve their skill will also encourage them more. In conclusion, the problem of brain drain particularly affects the developing nations more negatively, resulting in a large pressure of workload on the fewer remaining experts and ultimately making them underperform. The government can help to ameliorate this problem by improving working conditions and remuneration of these professionals.