Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

There is an increasing rate of fatality in poor and developed nations as they cannot obtain the medication needed due to the non-affordable prices. Whether drug companies should decrease the charges for their items or not, is a moot point. However, this essay agrees with this sentiment due to the reasons the upcoming paragraphs elaborate on. To begin with, governments from those underprivileged countries should allocate substantial funds to support people who require specific medication. This could be addressed by holding donation events to execute these funding programmes so that societies are able to contribute to their nations. Nevertheless, extensive promotion needs to be done in order for these events to receive a burgeoning success. One instance that exemplifies this is the “Jom Donate” campaign in Malaysia that was held in 2020, collecting revenues for COVID-19 victims and their families. In essence, governments must take necessary measures to ameliorate health issues in their regions. In addition, providing free healthcare in those countries also should be considered. This can be done by increasing tax payments from taxpayers, thus offering them numerous beneficial amenities. However, some might experience struggles to survive on the exorbitant tax, therefore policies should be made to protect those in need. Take Canada as the perfect example to encapsulate this issue, research indicates that Canada has one of the healthiest citizens, primarily due to the costless health services. In other words, healthcare reform is often necessary to address issues such as affordability, accessibility and quality of care. In conclusion, in light of what has been discussed, I concur with the viewpoint that pharmacies and medicine companies have to make necessary changes to the prices of medication so that it can be possessed by anyone. It is worth noting that government plays a vital role in helping the development of healthcare.