parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat ? Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that the fathers and mothers of children that are obese deserve to be reprimanded. This essay agrees with this view that the guardian of these fat children should be disciplined allowing them to grow to this size. The essay will first argue that the parents have a fundamental role in shaping a child's dietary habits and lifestyle and then, submit that only very few cases of obesity are beyond the control of the parents. Firstly, the parents play a pivotal role in molding a child to develop a healthy lifestyle. They do this by controlling the kind of food they give to the children, as these children are unable to make decisions for themselves. Thus, if they avoid feeding the child with unhealthy junk that will only make them add fat, and feed them with much healthier foods rich in proteins and vitamins, these young ones will come out well. They can also inculcate in them the habit of having regular exercise. Consequently, if they fail to perform these roles, the child can become obese; making them the major culprits to be blamed for a child who develops obesity due to dietary indiscretion. Furthermore, many of the known causes of obesity including sedentary lifestyle and obesity, are modifiable and can be taken care of by responsible parenthood who take children's health seriously. Only very few cases of childhood obesity are due to factors beyond the control of the parents like the genetic build of the child. This means that some children have a genetic tendency to be obese, take, for instance, the children who are genetically slow metabolizers, according to science, these individuals are more likely to grow fatter than their counterparts of the same age as their general metabolism is slow. However, since this represents only a minute percentage of the population, it means parents still have much control in influencing how a child turns out. In conclusion, I believe the parents should be held responsible for childhood obesity, as it shows that they did not train them to adopt a healthy dietary lifestyle early in life when they can be easily controlled.