Some people consider art to be essential and others think it is not. Which view do you agree with and why? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been said that art is as close as human beings will get to God. There are so many advantages and disadvantages of arts. Some persons are of the view that art is beneficial while others think otherwise. There are valid arguments on both views which I will discuss now. On the one hand, individuals who are of the impression that fine art is essential believe that it is soothing and it helps to relieve stress. For example, watching dreams is a good method of relaxation. It also has the added advantage of making people think wide and brainstorm- while viewing movies, people tend to think and anticipate what happens in the next scene. Arts create a good ambience and make us feel good. It helps to brighten up moods. For instance, a study done by a group of psychologists in Denmark in 1994 showed that putting art frames in offices enhanced the moods of employees working especially in open offices and because of this, the workers think more creatively and are motivated to work in an enjoyable environment. Opposers on the other hand argue that arts have no essential benefit. They believe that it has no role in the lives of individuals. For instance, they say motivation has to do with personality and artistry cannot increase one's drive or passion to excite his or her daily activities. In conclusion, I agree that art is important. It ranges from sound, culture, nature and drama. Personally, it has helped me learn more about myself and my roots, music has helped me stay relaxed so I am of the view that art is of great importance in one's life.