In some countries, private cars are now banned from certain city centres. What are the advantages of such a system and do you feel that this is something that most cities should adopt?

Banning cars from city centers is a recent trends and it can be seen in various cities around the world. Certain advantages and disadvantages immediately spring to mind when considering this step that city councils are taking. The advantages are clear. Since cars were introduced, city centres have always been areas where air quality is poor due to the amount of emissions, which in turn affects people's health. City centers become quiter quite and safer for people to wander around shopping and enjoying themselves. Access to the city centers still can be good, at it is usually only private vehicles that are banned, are busses and taxes can still take people in and outof the city centres areas. Many towns also operate a park and ride scheme, so people can leave their car in safe car parking in the outskirts of towns and travel with a dedicated bus service to the town centres. It would seem hard to critisice this kind of scheme. There are critics though to the scheme of banning cars in the city centres. City centers shop keepers have often been vocal opponents, as they belive that fewer people will come to the city center and therefore their incomes will be affected. The general public also sometimes object, as people like to travel in their own private vehicles. In actual facts, banning cars from the city centres has in practise not reduse the number of people who travel to the city center to shops. People like shopping and socializing in the city centres and they just adapt to the situation. There is no answer to people who want to dive their own cars. They hopefully just realise that the sacrifice of not driving their own cars is outweighed by the health and lifestyle improvements if a cleaner and quiter city centre. In conclusion, there are far more advantages to banning cars from city centres than allowing them. It is therefore a measure that most city centres should adoprt for their citizens.