In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive development or negative development?

As the market for products is becoming more competitive, businesses are figuring out a new way to increase the sales of their products. Emphasising their products are new in some way can have a positive effect on sales. There is a clear reason why such a method is becoming popular and this essay will discuss the reasons with arguments and examples, however, I strongly believe that this trend is a negative development. First and foremost, the reason for such a marketing strategy is simple. The majority of the people tend to be attracted towards new products because they want to keep up with the modern world. This is because purchasing products that are strongly emphasised as new, it's a symbol of status within the society and a way to flaunt their wealth. As an example, Apple brings out new products every year or so and those who possess the new iPhones are often looked at as cool by their peers. Thus, the marketing strategy is popular and effective among a vast array of age groups. Although the debate between whether the trend is a positive or negative development is a heated controversy, the strategy proves negative. Promoting every product as new in some way means there is no originality. There are large numbers of products that already exist with similar features in the market. For instance, Apple's new iPhones every year have similar features from the previous models but with a slight tweak in performance and appearance. Hence, products like so don't have the right to be emphasised as new. Consequently, marketing strategies like these will remove originality and traditions. In conclusion, even though the strategy of emphasising products as new is clearly effective, the impact it has on society can't be said the same. As a result, with the aforementioned reasons and examples, I strongly believe that such a phenomenon is a clear negative development.