Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve the problem?

In recent times, the major issue that we face on daily basis is an unhealthy environment. A recent study, states that the primary source of pollution is excessive usage of plastic materials. Today, anything that we take out of the shelf is wrapped in plastic. Also, most of the liquid products are placed in bottles made of the same material. In this essay, I will be arguing the damages to the environment caused by plastics and steps the government should be carried to address these problems. The primary issue is both water and land get polluted. Plastic is not a bio-degradable product, in a recent study, it was highlighted that it will take more than 10 years to compose. Due to this, it will become a landfill and makes soil less fertile. This also has a huge impact on groundwater. For example, a couple of years ago the officials conducted a test in my neighbourhood and identified around 3kms of land become unfertile and groundwater got contaminated with plastic particles. Later people recognized that the location is used as a dump yard 15 years ago. To solve the above problem, the government must carry steps like running public awareness, promoting bio-degradable materials. Today in many places around the world the government runs several campaigns to reduce plastic waste. For example, in early 2019, the officials in Bangalore, India organized an awareness program where they explained the impacts of plastic usage and provided bags made of cloth and bottles made of glass to the participants. Likewise, we as individuals should do our best to avoid using plastic materials by using alternates, for instance, cloth bags and glass bottles. In conclusion, everyone should aware that plastic is harmful to the environment. The government should implement necessary programs to bring awareness to the public.