It is a natural process for animal species to become extinct (e.g. dinosaurs, dodos, etc.). There is no reason why people should try to prevent this from happening. Do you agree or disagree?

Some today argue that humanity should not interfere with the extinction of other species. In my opinion, this was a more legitimate argument in the past, when mankind was not the primary driving force behind this phenomenon. Throughout history, extinction has been part of natural selection and evolution. Creatures such as the dinosaurs disappeared due to a likely cataclysmic event, but in more recent history, less adaptable species have also gone extinct. Humanity, in these cases, played either no role or one commensurate with the rest of nature. This can be seen as necessary to the work of nature. Certain species develop and prosper, while other ones do not and perish. A modern, compassionate public might view this as inhumane, but the indifferent cruelty in nature has served the historic purpose of maintaining a healthy, thriving, and diverse ecosystem. However, contemporary human dominance must be accompanied by a larger share of responsibility. Mankind is no longer one animal among many, but the dominant species whose actions affect the majority of other animals. The most pertinent examples of this relate to deforestation and climate change. In order to sustain booming populations, production has stripped bare sections of the earth, decimating natural habitats and plunging thousands of species to the brink of extinction. The causal role of human industry necessitates taking responsibility. Moreover, there are simple steps that could be taken to preserve species and curb the effects of human progress. If countries collectively committed to moderate conservation efforts, then the earth could be restored to a more natural equilibrium. In conclusion, though humanity was not at fault for past extinctions, the current influence of industry means that we should now take responsibility for biological diversity. Once a species disappears, it will never return.