“A doctor should never disclose medical information about his patients” What does this statement mean? Argue to the contrary. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The ethical principle of respecting patients’ autonomy is crucial in maintaining a trustful doctor-patient relationship. On this basis, the statement argues that no part of a patient’s medical data or records should be revealed no matter the scenario. However, it can be argued that there are certain circumstances where it is necessary to breach patient confidentiality. For instance, if a patient is suspected of having a communicable disease such as Covid-19, doctors are required to immediately alert local health authorities so that precautions can be made to protect others. Besides, in cases where it is necessary to disclose a patient’s medical information is when they have broken, or plan to break the law such as murder. Nevertheless, I still agree with the statement to a large extent. That is, in most cases, patients should have the right to be informed about their medical information. This is evident when doctors disclose a patient’s medical information without their permission, which could be detrimental to their trust in doctors. This could further result in poor communication and ineffective treatment because doctors are unable to gain sufficient information required to diagnose the patient. In conclusion, a doctor should never disclose medical information about their patients unless there are circumstances that deem it necessary to do so. However, in some cases, the decision to disclose medical information is hard to be determined. Therefore, such situations should be decided on a case-by-case basis