Some high schools require all students to wear school uniforms. Other high schools permit students to decide what to wear to school. Which of these two school policies do you think is better?

Good morning, everyone, and thank you all for coming to listen to me today. Before we start, let me ask you a question first. How many of you think that we should establish a school council in our school? Today, I am going to talk about school council. For the start, I am going to present its advantages, then disadvantages and my own opinion at the end. First of all, the advantage of the school council is that it gives students the chance to actively participle in changing their school environment. I have read about a study recently, which states if the school places the involvement of their students at heart, then the benefits and opportunities for both the students and the school are significantly increased. Also, a school council motivate students to make a difference by inviting them shape their future school life, as they have been given the chance to present their views, by using their own voices to express their needs and concerns. For example, a curriculum that is not solely developed by the teacher but also with the students can motivate them to learn. However, some people argue that there are also disadvantages of establishing a school council and their main argument is that the council is a waste of time. The students often have the feeling that they have a say but, in the end, nothing really happens. Personally, I think that it is not really the problem of the council or of the students, but the teachers. As it is teachers’ job to report the problems to each other and not just ignore them. To avoid this kind thing to happen, I think that the involvement should not just be lip service but should also include action. Both form the students and the teachers. To conclude, I think that the establishing of a school council bring more good than harm on the students. However, the council and the students advices should also be taken seriously by the teachers and the council should be a way to encourage the students to become involved in changing the school, not discouraging them from this.