Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years crime rate had increased sacnifacntly around the globe. Some people argue that longer prison sentencing will result in a decline in the crime rate. While others believe using other methods will be more effective. In this essay I will be discussing both points of view and why I strongly agree with the second notion. To begin with, It is undeniable that longer incarceration time will deter many culprits from reoffending again and keep communities safe for a longer period of time. For instance, when a person gets a long sentence such as 10 years in prison other offenders will think twice before committing a crime. Therefore this will protect society from future crimes. Furthermore, they believe that it gives prisoners time to think about what they did wrong, and the thought of going back to prison will motivate them to start straight. However, We can not ignore the major issues that come with longer prison sentencing. Firstly, it is money consuming process and it will put more pressure on taxpayers due to the fact that taxpayers are the primary finder for prison institutions. Moreover, longer sentencing will affect ex-convicts in a negative way. It will be harder for them to reemerge within the society. Therefore other methods such as rehabilitation for non-violent crimes is a better approach than long sentencing. In addition to that, the death penalty could be used for hanes crimes such as murder and it will be more effective and it will deter future crimes. In conclusion, in my,opinion other measurements such as the death penalty and rehabilitation will be a more effective approach than a longer sentencing time.