Some people think international cooperation has brought benefits to world environment protection, while some people think more benefits has been brought to international business. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this globalization era where the country border-line seems blurred, every nation is well connected. Therefore, international cooperation is managed to work together on tackling global challenges, such as environmental protection. Meanwhile, some believe that the only benefit from such collaboration is for economic growth. There are valid opinions on both sides which I will explore now. On the one hand, to cope environmental protection issues that happen worldwide, the supports from international collaboration will be extremely beneficial to address. For instance, The Paris Agreement, a legally binding international treaty on climate change held in 2016, encouraged over 170 parties to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. In addition, through this cooperation, close to 30 countries have jointly pledged US$4.1 billion to safeguard the world’s forests, build green cities, protect threatened wildlife, and cope marine plastic pollution. Hence, the aim to limit global warming to well below 2 °C is highly possible to achieve in the near future by such collaboration. On the other hand, people who are opposing the view believe that cross-border cooperation is contributed more to the international market boom rather than environmental protection. One salient example of this is Freeport-McMoRan, the biggest company of copper and gold worldwide, apparently enjoy the fruits of its exploitation of Papua Island. The indigenous tribes claim their communities have been racked with poverty, disease, oppression and habitual degradation since the mine began operations in 1973. Thus, it can be clearly seen that multinational business primarily target to earn huge profit than contribute to improve the environment. To sum up, I firmly believe that mutual effort among different nations has benefited with the business level which is far greater than the environment protection. Therefore, there should be stricter law and rules to regulate company’s activities to avoid the larger devastating effect on natural surroundings.