Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many parents believe that children should not be given any task to be done during the evening hours while children are at home, on the other hand, few parents argue that school work at home is imperative for a child's cognitive development. This essay will discuss both sides and then give a concluding view. On the one hand, if teachers give homework to students it contributes to their academic excellence, as it gives them time to practise the lessons at home and retain the memory for a longer duration. Moreover, they will become disciplined by following the routine of being focused on work right from their childhood. For example, a survey that was conducted in the US has revealed that 80% of pupils who met all the homework deadlines always performed well academically. In contrast, giving too many tasks to pupils to accomplish at home can often cause depression in them. A child might get disappointed if he develops a feeling that he is unable to spend time for leisure activities. When I was in school, for instance, my parents often wanted me to study when I was at home, because of which, I started neglecting my personal interests and started feeling depressed. To conclude, taking both the perspectives into consideration, it seems advisable that students must be encouraged to study at school, but spend time on recreational activities at home. This will not only help students to enjoy leisure activities at home, but it might also help them to create a new career based on this activity.