While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem now, others believe that deforestation has a more detrimental effect. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is widely claimed that global warming is the most urgent environmental issue, some argue that deforestation has a more negative effect. Both points of view and the reason why I believe that people should pay their most attention to global warming will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, it might seem sensible for some to believe that global warming has affected most of the environmental problems, seeing that it has contributed to the increase of extreme weather events such as heavy storms, drought and flash floods. Studies carried out by Harvard University, for example, revealed that hurricanes and other storms are likely to become more intense and more frequent by 90% and it might eventually result in a dramatic transformation of the planet in the long run. On the other hand, opponents of this idea might propose that deforestation should be taken into a consideration as the most pressing environmental matter these days. This is because the usage of wood and other forest products has increased considerably, resulting in soil erosion that reduces the yields of staple food crops. From this perspective, it is understandable why some would prefer deforestation to be the major environmental problem. Personally, I would argue that in favour of global warming crucially impacting on the sustainability in the environment, since people tend to increasingly influence the earth’s temperature by burning fossil fuels, farming livestock and manufacturing industries. For instance, given that individuals incessantly release carbon dioxide and other pollutants from their actions, this could cause detrimental effects on the environment and put the earth at extinction risk. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that deforestation is an important environmental problem, I am of the opinion that global warming should be considered as the most pressing concern in order to mitigate the pessimistic effects of its environmental damages.