Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Most cities around the world have major traffic congestion, mainly due to privately owned cars,which were purchased over the last 3 years. This has been confirmed by multiple studies and led to problems like increased road traffic accidents and high environmental pollution. to limit the purchasing of new cars, governing authorities have to increase the taxes for private vehicles and improve the quality of public transport. in the following essay, this writer wishes to elaborate further on this topic. To begin with,during the last thirty years with the development of economy in most countries, their citizens quality of life and their purchasing power has been increased dramatically and, they have purchased many private vehicles like auto. however, authorities were not able to build the infrastructures like roads with the pase of purchasing new auto by their citizens and ultimately this has been led to this severe traffic jam. For instance, a report published by World Bank in 2018 has shown, there is about a 150% increase in the number of auto on the road during this decade compared to the last decade. Hence, this problem seems to be spiralled out during the last few decades. On the other hand, governments have to do a lot to mitigate this problem to prevent further precipitation. They have to increase their taxes for private auto compare to public transport facilities and this may discourage people to purchase new cars and eventually, they will try to use public transport facilities.At the same time, authorities have to improve the facilities available in the public transport systems and this would further encourage communities to use this mode of transport. For example, the Sri Lankan government has introduced a new intercity bus service with good facilities and this has been using many government and private employees during the last few years and the traffic congestion in the major cities has been reduced with this. In conclusion, traffic jam has been increasing during the last few decades due to purchasing of new vehicles by people. To control this, this writer believes that, the authority has to boost the taxes for private vehicles and increased the facilities and number of public transport systems.