In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

A few years ago, several individuals used to commute to their workplaces. Nowadays, rapid advancement in technology has led people to work remotely. This essay will elaborate on both the benefits and pitfalls of this concept faced by the population. “The only way to do great work is to love what you do.” - Steve Jobs. Work has become the most crucial aspect of our lives which cannot be neglected. The world’s economy is entirely dependent on this activity. Ever since the pandemic lockdown, the crowd witnessed a major shift in the employment industry. When the phenomenon of work from home was introduced, it was immediately adopted by many organizations. The working hours were made flexible, employees were given the option to provide services from their places of comfort and most of their meetings and project submission took place digitally. The escalating rise in the use of technology-based gadgets like smartphones, laptops and computers have enhanced the development of this formula and offers uncountable incentives to people who choose to work temporarily. The most important advantage service providers observed was the saving of financial resources and time. Those who were working remotely were able to manage their schedules and didn’t have to spend money on unnecessary items. The companies saw a remarkable increase in the outcomes which were yielded by the working class during this period. People working in a comfortable environment had relaxed and calm minds which helped them make rational decisions and finish the required project before the deadlines. In an experiment conducted by Talent works Survey US - which is an agency for job roles - it was statistically recorded that 90% of senior executives prefer to work from home if the option was available. However, this formula also observed a few downfalls as well. The employment sector is assigned to perform their tasks from one place generated a couple of issues for the wage earners. One of the major problems faced by them was the degrading impact on their health and lifestyles. Many people became lethargic and overweight, which led them to procrastinate and became ill. In a study published by the NHFS - National Family Health Survey in Delhi, 2021 - it was cited that 40% of the citizens were either obese or overweight. Furthermore, during working hours, people encounter innumerable distractions causing miscommunication with other employees and hampering the results. At times, they are unable to segregate their personal and professional life. A survey conducted by the job list US reported that 53% of the population feel they fail to maintain a work -life balance. All in all, it can be stated that the evolution of this concept yields both profitable gains in terms of productivity and has severe drawbacks on their way of living.