Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do agree and disagree? Give reasons, examples to you answer.

In current days, it is common for countries to import food products from other foreign countries. For instance, Japan imports various fruit products from Taiwan. This phenomenon raises the question of whether countries should buy foods from other countries or they should produce food products on their own as many as possible. In the following, I will offer my view. Some argue that countries should not rely on imported foods; rather, they should produce foods on their own via manufacturing or farming. This way is beneficial to countries ' stable development since they will not easily be affected by other countries. For instance, if the output countries are in a financial crisis, they may raise the products ' prices. In this way, countries that import too many food products may spend a large sum of money on those products. As a result, they have to cut off their expenditure on other stuff, such as infrastructure, education, or medicine, hence detrimental to their own development. However, for some small countries, I think they are hard to produce foods independently. An example is Singapore. This small country does not have enough land and population to develop its own farming industry. Consequently, they primarily focus on providing financial services, which need not land and population, to other countries. Therefore, the Singapore government does not really have a choice. It can only import foods from other countries for the consumption of its citizens. In short, I agree that countries producing foods on their own are an advantage to their development. Yet, purchasing foods from other nations is unavoidable in some exceptional cases. Thus, at least for those particular cases, I think that countries do not have an obligation to produce foods on their own.