These days, there is too much plastic in our oceans, which negatively affects marine life. What are the reasons for this, and how can this situation be improved?

In recent times, the ocean is congested with plastic waste, which has a detrimental effect on ocean life. Throughout this essay, I will explore the causes for the large dumping of plastic into the oceans and suggest possible solutions to combat this issue. To begin with, one of the major reasons, the sea beds are concentrated with plastic is due to the negligence of the People. Many a time, individuals populate the beach, instead of disposing of plastic bottles and packages in the designated bins, they are littered on the beach. Consequently, the waves from the ocean wash away all the plastic waste from the shoreline and are deposited into the sea beds. For Instance, Juhu beach in Mumbai, India is one of the most polluted beaches in the world, having a huge influx of regular visitors, with plastic bottles,cans and eatables strewn around. Another reason is certain operational projects, which happen on the sea such as oil rigs, offshore wind farms etc have improper environmental health safety procedures, causing a significant amount of project scrap, which is dominantly plastic to be offloaded into the sea. One of the solutions to deal with the issue of people's unawareness is to have strict rules and regulations administered by the public authorities. Furthermore, there should be designates deployed on beaches to sight anyone one throwing garbage on the seaside and be penalized for the same in terms of monetary compensation. Moreover, the government must orchestrate regular cleaning drives and campaigns which will not only create awareness among people but will also deter them from inappropriately disposing of non-biodegradable waste. At the same time, for oil and other projects on the ocean there must be proper stipulated environmental compliance by companies. For example, British Petroleum spends a considerable part of its revenue in ensuring its offshore rigs do not have a negative impact on the environment and ocean life is not threatened due to its actions. To conclude, lack of empathy among public towards ocean life and improper processes in place by commercial projects on the sea are the reasons for the high amount of plastic found in oceans. However, with timely government actions and developing a sense of responsibility among people towards the oceans can help counter the issues.