Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether to educate a child in gender-separated schools or in mixed institutes has been a subject of debate. This is because a few people believe that a single-sex academy is better than a mixed academy. However, others disagree and oppose this motion. I believe that co-teaching offers a great opportunity for socialization. This essay will discuss both sides and provide a logical conclusion. On the one hand, educating a child in sex-separated schools have some benefits. Firstly, this form of training provides an opportunity for the pupils to learn subjects that are unique to their sexes and physical attributes. This will result in gender-based subject specialization in academies. For example, in Nigeria, female children are taught subjects relating to the menstrual cycle, pregnancy, labour and delivery as a way of preparing them for womanhood. Secondly, gender-based learning provides students with room for asking questions regarding their sex without any fears of intimidation from the opposite sex in the same class with them. On the other hand, mixed literacy, though a contentious topic, has the added advantage of preparing students for social adulthood. This is as a result of the fact that matters concerning both sexes are usually taught and addressed holistically. Also, it gives the opportunity for competition with people of the same or opposite sex. Moreover, pupils learn how to be friends with each other and modalities of maintaining a healthy friendship with the opposite gender are also taught. For example, it has been documented in the literature that children who attended mixed seminary are usually 10 times more likely to handle relationships with the opposite gender than their peers with single-sex science. In conclusion, single-sex and mixed schools are subjects of controversy, each with its strengths and drawbacks. However, I am of the opinion that mixed study offers better chances for a fulfilled adult life.