Nowadays the way people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what way has technology affected the type of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

These days advancements in science have altered the means through which people socialize. This essay will discuss how poor friendships have resulted from this as well as how it has led to undesirable effects including isolation. Unlike what many people might hope for, technology has contributed to poor friendships among people. Since most individuals are always glued to their devices as they chat with family and colleagues in person, they tend to lack that emotional attachment necessary for a lasting bond. Take, for example, rather than spending time with their loved ones strengthening family ties, people tend to be more addicted to their electronic devices and not concerned with the activities taking place in their immediate environment. This further limits the depth of their conversations and in the long run weakens the already existing friendships. This is a negative development because it disadvantages people in that they get isolated both physically and mentally. To put this in perspective, many individuals begin to prefer spending most of their time alone even if they would be in the company of acquaintances. The resulting emotional trauma detaches them from reality and the meaningful communication needed. For instance, in a survey conducted on the effects of social media on family bonding, it was determined that many people who were fond of utilizing it the most were usually loners. Therefore, this drawback ruins not only relations between individuals but among family members as well. By way of conclusion, technology changes peoples' relationships for the worse since it contributes to its weakening and detaches one from socializing with everyone else. This is the reason why is a negative development in my view.