In the past, when students pursued a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays more and more pupils are choosing to study at university outside their home countries. Looking at this phenomenon, In this, essay I will be discussing both the pros and cons of this shift. To begin with, In this day and age due to the advancement of transportation and technology many students are able to further their education overseas. One of the major advantages of this is the fact that they are exposed to different cultures, traditions and languages which will widen their horizon. Moreover, It will open for them new doors and give them the opportunity to achieve great things that they are not able to achieve in their home country such as going to med school. For instance, INDIA is still a developing country. A recent survey that was conducted there showed that there are almost one million Indian students studying abroad and 45% of them study in NORTH AMERICA and most of them are in the health care sector. Furthermore, when studying abroad students are far away from their families which will teach them independence and shap their personality to be more responsible individuals and also gives them a clear idea about what they will challenge in the real world. However, there are many cons that come with studying abroad, First and foremost, a lot of students that study abroad do not come back to their countries after finishing and this will negatively affect the country's prosperity. A recent study that was done by HARVARD UNIVERSITY showed that 41% of foreign students that come to the US are choosing to stay after finishing their studies because of better job opportunities. Moreover, most of the students that travel abroad to study are around the age of 18 or 19, and because of the freedom of being away from their families they may adopt some disruptive behaviours and may end up wasting a critical time of their lives. In conclusion, we can not deny the many merits that studying abroad has. such as exposing to new cultures and becoming self-dependent at a young age. However, one of the cardinal disadvantage is the migration of young intelligent minds.