In many cities crime is increasing. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce crime levels?

In today's world, crime rates are unprecedentedly high. There can be several reasons behind this, including unemployment and media influence, that I will elaborate on and provide some feasible solutions to in the following paragraphs. The first cause of commuting crime lies, undoubtedly, in the lack of workplaces. People, trying to make a living by working, get rejected even before the start of their career, and, since they have to satisfy at least their basic needs, see the crime as something particularly tempting. According to the statistics, 50% of prisoners turned to drugs or crime in order to earn some money, which is even more than the percentage of those, who commuted the crime of passion.(30%) Another reason is the influence of currently popular social media and violent online games that have an especially detrimental impact on teenagers and young adults. The point is, the people from these age groups are vulnerable to external influence and tend to replicate the behavioural pattern, however preposterous they can be, as long as they consider them to be cool. Taking into account the fact that crime in media and games is shown as something that brings a better life, youngsters, driven by this, involve themselves in it. Although this may seem inexorable at first, there are some measures that can be taken to bring the crime rates in the reduction. The government has to provide citizens with an adequate number of jobs, so the problem of unemployment will be eliminated. It can be done by the attraction of International companies, that, by opening the branches in a country will not only increase the number of jobs, but also supply the citizens of the nation by adequate training, which in the long-term future will result in more educated citizens and, therefore, the development of the country itself. In addition to this, censorship might contribute significantly too. If the games and sites that have a potential to damage young minds are prohibited, there will be far smaller likelihood of the appearance of new crimes from the younger generations, since they probably will be occupied with their personal development instead of playing the games, such as PUBG, or wasting their time on the websites about weapons. I will terminate my essay by emphasizing, that ways of combating crime, providing that they are sufficient enough, will decrease the criminal acts.