What problems derive from airborne pollution? Suggest solutions to these problems in your response.

Increasing levels of airborne pollutants have proved to be a major obstacle for humanity in the 21st century. This trend has tarnished the image of many cities around the world and it is at the root of several health issues. The nature of these problems will be examined in this essay. Measures to counter these problems such as cleaner energy sources and alternative traffic regulations, will also be examined. One of the most pressing effects of airborne pollution is the atmospheric eyesore it causes. Metropolis such as Mumbai and Beijing are good examples of this, as they very rarely report 100% visibility in their downtown cores due to air quality. A possible solution to this problem would be for these cities to make the transition to nuclear power, as Shanghai has recently done. The improved cleanliness of Shanghai's air acts as evidence that cleaner energy does make a difference. Many health issues also derive from airborne deterioration. Long-term exposure to motor vehicle exhaust, for example, has been linked to increasing levels of respiratory complications among children in the United States. This problem could be realistically addressed via a change to municipal traffic regulations. For example, some metropolitan cities have imposed carpool lanes to help encourage people to commute together to work. This approach has proved its effectiveness in London, Toronto and NYC, and thus would be a plausible approach to pollution issues in other large cities. In conclusion, alternative energy sources and evolved traffic regulations, would be effective counters to the problems driven by airborne pollution. I hope these approaches are put into action soon.