Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some individuals have argued that students should not be given assignments to solve at home while others have disagreed, claiming that it is very beneficial to the educational progress of the pupils. This essay agrees with the latter proponents that such assignments not only help to reinforce understanding, but also enable them to make productive use of their time at home. The essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, children spend a larger proportion of their time at school learning, in most places, an average of about 8-10 hours, and as such should have sufficient time to rest particularly at home. Engaging them with a plethora of assignments to solve at home will be counter-productive to their effectiveness. This is because the brain needs to be well refreshed, by adequate rest which is only possible in the home environment. Besides, allowing them to take the time they are off school to rest, helps them to relieve the stress of the busy workday. For instance, a growing body of evidence has shown that children who have an adequate rest periods of up to more than 8hours per day perform better than those with fewer rest periods, it is only at home that this can be made possible. On the contrary, home assignments are an essential educational means to help children develop effectively. This is because it enables them to work independently applying taught principles in practice to solve academic problems without the assistance of their tutors or colleagues. In addition, they are able to make productive use of their home time rather than engaging in fruitless exercises. For example, in a recent interview conducted in a school in southwestern Nigeria, where parents are asked about their views about giving children homework, more than eighty per cent believe that homework is fundamental to the children's learning, making the children be more engaged at home. In conclusion, while children should be given adequate time to rest when they are off school so that they can be refreshed, I believe that giving them home lessons to do is critical to their overall progress provided that such assignments are not time -consuming.