In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

With advancements in technology and in the field of medical science people around the world are living longer than ever before; however, the increased life expectancy has led to numerous issues that I will discuss in this essay, and also some measures that can be taken to deal with them. To begin with, the first and foremost problem with people living longer is for younger people. Most old people prefer to work as long as they can, so this results in late retirement, and this has a negative impact on young individuals in terms of employment. There are fewer vacancies available in the job market for youngsters. Besides this, this affects governments as well, as there are more people in society who require public facilities like healthcare and pensions. Moreover, this increases the burden on governments as governments have to take care of the increased needs of their residents. Also, if we talk about the impacts on individuals themselves then, with the passage of time ageing definitely creates health problems, and it becomes difficult for people to deal with those health related issues. Moreover, it's hard for them to find someone who can take care of them, and eventually performing daily routine tasks becomes daunting for them. However, there are some measures that can be taken to lower the impact of this problem. First of all, governments have to run awareness campaigns in societies regarding the benefits of nutritious diets and regular exercises, as if, citizens are healthy then they will stay healthy longer, and this way, there would be reduced burden on them regarding healthcare. Also, individuals themselves have to develop healthy eating habits with regular participation in physical activities. Moreover, people have to take retirement at their retirement age so that youngsters can get equal opportunities for work. In conclusion, although there are some problems associated with the ageing population, taking some effective measures can definitely help to curb this problem.