Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Several corporations use sports endorsements for their advertisement. People often have contrasting opinions about whether it really benefits sports or not. This essay will discuss both sides, but for,me sports sponsorships are more beneficial as they aid in the long-term development of a game. On one hand, corporate sponsorships act as a great motivation for players to improve and be better. However, brands most often go to the top performers to advertise their products. In addition, it takes an insane amount of hard work and dedication for sportspeople to be able to compete with the best, a brand sponsorship acts as a great reward for individuals to be at the top of their performance. On the other hand, some believe brand advertisements sometimes over commercialise the sport and reduce it to only a money-making machine. For instance, IPL started initially as a tournament to promote the local talent to improve Indian cricket, but over time with too many brand endorsements involved. As a result, many players started focusing more on advertising and there was a considerable dip in their overall performance. In my opinion, the backing of games by big brands is important as it increases the reachability of that sport to a wider audience which is crucial for its long-term development. For example, it was only IPL that took the game worldwide and is now being played by a greater number of people. Unfortunately, this has not been the case with many other games as they lack brands advertisements. In conclusion, games advertisements by companies can have certain negatives, yet it is more beneficial for the game and the players involved.