Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, connections and travelling between cities are increasing. Some people think that government should invest inline systems instead of roads. Although the roads play an important role in human life, in my opinion, the railway system should be the top priority of countries' budgets because of some reasons such as passengers safety and environmental protection. First of all, it is approved that tracks are the safest means of travelling. A recent report in Times Newspaper revealed that the dangers of death inline systems are 78% and 42% less than in machines and planes respectively. In addition, whereas citizens used to drive automobiles, travelling by train is a much cheaper way,especially between cities. For example, the cost of gasoline consumed by car for travel between Vancouver and Calgary is twice more than a train ticket. Furthermore, travelling by caravan is environmentally friendly equivalent to trips by plane or automobile. The air pollution that is produced by cars is huge and I think, nations should encourage people to use trains by constructing new lines and adding new and modern wagons, especially if they would consume electric power. Moreover, caravan trips are faster than trips on-road and spending money on high-speed railway systems will increase the usage of trains toward cars or planes. For instance, a journey between two cities in Japan becomes faster than a harbour journey due to the fast train. In conclusion, whereas the harbour and cars are many important and should have enough budget for maintenance, the railway system due to safety and less cost on humans and nature, would be rather.