Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, technology has been significantly developed to serve the people more conveniently and comfort. However, the consequence of advanced technology is that it is being used to track the people. In my opinion, I believe that the advantage overcomes the disadvantage. To begin with, technology has played an important role in our lives. Most people rely on it for various reasons, such as working and travelling. However, when it is being used to monitor the people, It’s necessary to draw a line between privacy and safety. In my point of view, tracking people in public or in the personal area is acceptable, for example, using a security camera can prevent the criminal. According to the survey conducted in Thailand, the burglar will most likely choose to rob the house without a security camera rather than the one with a camera. This is because their face will be captured by a camera. As a consequence, the police can easily track the thief and arrest them. On the other hand, the technology must respect the privacy. I believe that no one should be tracked when they’re not in public. For instance, surfing an internet should not be tracked by any authority. There should be a privacy as long as you’re not causing any harm to the public. Furthermore, The information that is from tracking a person has been used for various reason without our consent, such as, our browsing history. It is being used to adjust an advertisement to make it most related so that there are more chance the product can be sold. In conclusion, there has to be a line between privacy and safety. The information should not be acquired without a consent.