Some experts say for road safety, governments should encourage people to use bicycles instead of cars. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued by some experts that the replacement of cars with bicycles ought to be promoted by governments for the sake of road safety. This idea may reduce the number of severe injuries caused by automobiles, but it would have potential risks of increasing pedestrian casualties involved in bicycle accidents. From the viewpoint of protecting vulnerable people walking on the street, I believe that the negative effects outweigh the positives. The attempt to encourage the use of bicycles could contribute to reducing the number of severe car accidents. It is obvious that the more slowly people move, the less the shock would be if they collided. Take Vietnam, where the majority of people commute by bicycle, for example, the annual number of severe injuries caused by traffic accidents, such as broken bones, is less than a thousand, while in the USA, a country which has the biggest automobile society, it is about 1.2 million. These figures clearly demonstrate the benefit of using bicycles as safe transportation. However, this attempt would increase the possible risks for pedestrians to be involved in more fatal accidents. In many countries, because regulations for bicycles are not as well developed as for cars, cycling on footpaths is not strictly prohibited and has caused many accidents with walkers. In Japan, two children became the victims of a collision with a cyclist pedalling at 30km/hour on the pavement. If the number of cyclists increases, the frequency of such miserable accidents will increase, which is a threat for pedestrians, especially children and elderly people. In conclusion, substituting cars with bicycles could be a contributor in reducing severe injuries, whereas it would potentially be a threat for pedestrians. Giving first priority to the safety of walkers who are at greater risk of serious injury, I believe the drawbacks of this idea outweigh the benefits.