In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Today, the vast major of people prefer to shop from chain stores or huge malls rather than retailers. Consequently, this trend has brought both merits and demerits, which I will discuss how its merits outweigh its drawbacks. To begin with, there are some apparent benefits of this development. Firstly, as the chain large stores always have entailed the wide range of goods and mostly they have located nearby other shops in the shopping centre, they respond to all requirements of shopper simultaneously. Therefore, the customers who chiefly are employees and can not devote adequate time for shop in this way would be able to their time and energy. For instance, the broad number of merchandise in our cities department stores draws the attention of people from all over the town. Secondly, since these stores purchase a massive number of goods from companies, they have taken advantage of the low prices the companies gift them. Consequently, if they sell their things cheap, they still achieve incredible profit. The Jumbo chin stores, for example, every day add branches to their min stores and become more affluent just by attracting the shoppers' attention with their fair price. However, this tendency has brought several drawbacks. First and foremost, retail shops which have opened with small investments and belong to ordinary people with limited financial level and their making livings depend on these buildings definitely will be damaged in long term. This will be because more people will tend to purchase brands and famous large centres in comparison to small ones; thus a vicious cycle will have existed which makes the poor demographics more needy and wealthy folks more rich day by day. In conclusion, there are some positive sides for malls which lead them to fit with these days' hectic societies, and save time and energy, While some negative sides also have caused to problems. As a result, I opine that following this approach is not avoidance and its merits are more significant.