Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

Choosing a career path is a turning point in any youngster´s life. It is often argued that the decision should only rely on the salary of the future job. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement since I believe that passion for the subject should be the primary decision factor when selecting a university degree. To begin with, if recent graduates do not enjoy the daily routine of the selected field, it is very unlikely that they will reach high-paying positions. Even if the sector is well remunerated. On the contrary, picking an area that students find challenging and rewarding could make them excel at their position, leading to a salary increase. Because of this, students following their interest in the topic usually have higher chances of moving up the employment ladder, than the ones who selected their career based solely on money. Additionally, career prospects might change over time. An area with great benefits can become less competitive salary-wise. For example, if there is an oversupply of candidates, companies could offer lower salaries and still find suitable employees. Moreover, other sectors can grow in demand, such as the IT sector in the last decade. Furthermore, thanks to the advance in technology, some positions could even be fully eliminated and replaced by machines. In conclusion, deciding on a career should be a thoughtful decision. In my view, this call should be taken based on how much one enjoys the topic, rather than the future income, since the job market is quite dynamic.