Today, TV channels broadcast men's sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal showtime for women’s sport and men’s sport?

There are controversial views on heating up a debate over whether television stations are biasing men’s sport and should allocate the same amount of screen time for both females’ and males’ sport. This essay is devoted to analyzing the reasons and I would contend that the right thing for TV channels to do is to provide equal coverage between two genders. There is a wide range of justifications pinning down the preference of channels over sports played by females. Undoubtedly, the fact that the number of devotees of men’s sports overwhelmed the breakdown of people supporting women’s sports leads to the priority of TV channels over sports played by men to boost viewership and expand their profits. By way of illustration, while the U23 Vietnam football male team gained the trophy of AFF cup and received plenty of love and support from the audience, the reverse was true for the U23 female team even though they also achieved certain success. Therefore, that is a rational explanation for the greater preference of TV shows over men’s sports shows rather than that of women. While the reasons for the popularity of men’s sport shows are widely acknowledged, it is crucial for TV stations to give the equivalent amount of on-screen time to women’s sports. In many years, despite the lack of encouragement from the media as well as viewers, sports women still put a great deal of effort into their performances and brought the country a wide range of trophies so that they deserve to have the same amount of showtime as men’s sports shows. For instance, Nguyen Thi Anh Vien, a national-record holding swimmer, has dedicated to domestic swimming in Vietnam for 10 years and won an eclectic mix of medals at such a very young age. Hence, it is crucial for TV channels to provide equal coverage between two genders. In conclusion, there are several reasons for the favouritism of the TV stations towards men’s sport shows. Nevertheless, it is unfair of women’s sports shows to be ignored. Therefore, giving equal show time to both females’ and males’ sports broadcasts is a significant thing that sports programs should do.