Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Choosing a university major is one of the crucial decision a student should make because it affects an individual’s future. Some proposed that one should take up a course that may lead to money-making careers. However, I oppose this idea. Firstly, people should pursue a degree where they are passionate and talented with. Persons who have passion on their college degree and have talent related to their major are more motivated to work hard. Hence, if they study what they desire, it is more possible to be successful and earn a lot of money. For example, a person who is excellent in drawings and designs will not take up medicine. Instead, he or she will enroll to architecture. Then, he/she will use more of his time to be great in his works that will lead him to be profitable architect. Secondly, monetary benefits should not the only factor to be considered in choosing a course for employment. Humanity should also be regarded. Nowadays, the world needs more people who could help in solving our planet’s problems. Consequently, students should take a path that could lead them to a career related to developing ways to prevent climate change or discover medications that could cure current diseases. For an instance, one can take up medicine and devote his/her time in treating patients. In conclusion, I totally disagree to the notion that students should pick out a college major that will only give them high salary. Instead, other factors like passion, talent and humaneness should be think about too.