Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Some people say that advertising has a positive impact on our lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertising has become an inseparable part of our life and businesses to the point that some people believe it positively affects our lives. In my opinion, however, it is a double-edged sword, therefore, I partially agree with their idea. On the one hand, advertisements may benefit us at some point. Firstly, they will increase the general awareness of people about new products or services. Without advertisements and commercials, the majority will not find out about the latest produced goods and gadgets such as AirPods, headphones, smartwatches or new technology developments like software updates or the latest version of the computer system and consequently, they will not pay for them which is equal to less revenue and bankruptcy. Secondly, adverts not only raise awareness of new products but also give people practical information about them. For example, the majority may not know how to install the latest version of the software if it is not explained through advertisements. On the other hand, it seems to me that not all their impacts are positive. They can increase consumerism by encouraging people to buy products or services that they do not need. This not only has negative effects on the environment but also on the general standard of living because the money will be spent on unnecessary issues rather than basic needs. For instance, a child may want the newest smartphone which is not always affordable for parents but, they pay for that instead of investing in education because their child is exposed to the commercial of that mobile everywhere. On top of that, advertisements are not completely honest. They are being produced to present a product in a perfect way to the point that sometimes they are better than reality and users will be disappointed by the real one. In conclusion, in my view, advertising is not always advantageous and it can also negatively affects us, mostly by deceiving us or encouraging us to pay.