Some people believe that children should be given some freedom to make mistakes, while others argue that adults should prevent them from doing so. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that adolescence can be a difficult period for both youngsters and parents. Although some people think that adults have the responsibilities to prevent any unwanted events from happening to their children, I would argue that it is an essential stage of teenagers’ development by committing mistakes. To begin with, those who argue that allowing teenage to commit a mistake does more harm than good might point to its consequences. They may claim that certain mistakes are irreversible and could possibly destroy a young life entirely, such as drug abuse or teenage pregnancy. The young generation is prone to commit these unlawful acts due to peer pressure, eliciting a desire to experiment out of curiosity. Therefore, there is no denying that proper guidance from experienced elderly is a vital step for avoidance. However, my view is that giving certain freedom is crucial because it can help teenagers to mature. The reason for this is that the freedom of making decisions on their own provides a sense of autonomy, which can be empowering. People are often naturally averse to doing anything which seems imposed upon them, especially not by their own will, and in turn, this may breed resentment towards their life. If, for instance, a child is never given a chance to make a decision, they might grow up to become lack independent-minded adults because they have used to doing things according to their parents’ satisfaction. In conclusion, despite the danger of committing mistakes that teenage may encounter, it is my firm belief that setting appropriate freedom conditions for teenagers could help to develop into well-matured and resilient adults.