Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Many large metropolitans all over the world are facing a major issue that the increase of population is over accommodation capability. This essay will examine the main causes before proposing possible solutions. The most common reason why many major cities are overpopulation is the migration of people from other areas into the cities. Although provinces or rural areas are adequately investments in education and healthcare with many schools and hospitals built to serve the local citizens. However, the high-quality services from big cities are more attractive. As a result, many people move to large cities for better services in education and medical care. Another contributing fact is that large urban centres attract more investment in industrial zones and factories which create more job opportunities. Consequently, many people migrate to cities to look for higher paid jobs. For example, the population of Ho Chi Minh city is ten million people but there is only one- third of the population are local residents, while nearly half are migrants and approximately two million people are temporary guests who come for medical care or business. To solve this problem, the solution should be carried out by governments. A possible solution is for governments to provide benefits such as accommodation, and the incentive to encourage high skill professions to move to provinces or rural areas to improve the quality of service in these places. Once people feel trust and satisfied with local services they won't move to the cities. Moreover, states should invest more in the infrastructure of rural areas. This will encourage companies open factories in these areas that will create more careers with a reasonable salary while the living cost is lower. This way will keep local people stay in their hometowns. In conclusion, overpopulation in large cities is a major issue that is only solved by governments by policies such as investing in the infrastructure of rural areas or encouraging high skilled professionals to move to provinces to develop local services.