Some people say that advanced technology can prevent most crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that the advances and innovations of modern technology can make significant contributions to identifying and reducing crime rates. While I accept that some kinds of crimes can be prevented by advanced technologies, I am still concerned about the high possibility of many criminals taking advantage of technological developments to do illegal deeds. On the one hand, I hold a firm belief that crime rates can be lowered with the help of state-of-the-art technologies. In fact, thanks to the advent of surveillance cameras which are installed in every corner of a city, many minor crimes such as robbery or pickpocketing can be limited since offenders seem to be scared of being recorded with evidence. Besides, traffic violations can also be minimized when people can still be fined if they break the laws on the roads and are caught by 24/7 CCTVs. More importantly, with many breakthroughs in communication and navigation technologies, polices now can intervene and rescue victims from serious crimes such as murder or kidnapping. To be more specific, with GPS signals from victims’ smartphones, police forces can quickly identify their position and take action accordingly. On the other hand, besides benefits in terms of preventing specific offences, I also argue that many high-technology crimes can start to increasingly emerge and become more sophisticated. Living in a technology-driving society these days, everyday activities ranging from shopping to transferring money through online banking can possibly happen on the Internet platforms. This can therefore facilitate many hackers to steal people’s personal information, and then many big frauds up to thousands or hundreds of dollars can be done. Seriously, confidential information about the military or politics of a country can also be at risk of being stolen by hackers to sell to rival countries with an aim of earning money. This may also lead to insurmountable detrimental effects on a nation and worldwide peace. In conclusion, although modern technologies can be effective to some extent in tackling several types of crimes, I also support the view that technological advances can be conducive to high-technology offences which threaten the privacy of the information on the individual and national levels.