In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

There is a debate among individuals about the figure for people who purchase newspapers and books will be eliminated in the future due to a significant rise of technology. In my opinion, it will happen in the future. So, in this essay, I will explore some reasons to support my opinion. It is my view that modern technology has changed our lives. It is obvious that printed books and newspapers cost a lot for both people and governments, as they require materials to be produced. For example, an article published by Oxford University in 2018 explains that a vast number of trees are cut down every year to produce paper. While people can access them online which is without paying. Hence, online sources of reading are an eco-friendly activity and they should be expanded over time. In contrast, some people claim that people should be encouraged to read paper books. They firmly insist that reading online is not as effective as reading paper books in terms of raising the level of study rate in societies. However, I do not find this argument convincing as I believe that the internet is like a huge library, so individuals have various options to choose from online books. Moreover, online books and news are available all over the world with a click of a button. In conclusion, I completely agree with this statement that printed newspapers and books will not be bought in the future since people can read them online for free. While the paper ones do not have these advantages.