Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the environmental problems have caused many extreme impacts that people need to concern. This raises the question of whether the extinction of plants and animals is the biggest issue. My opinion is that this is not a major issue while there still have other environmental emergency problems. To start with, climate change is one of the crucial global problems that people have tried to prevent in recent years. It causes the melting of the polar ice, increasing sea levels, and shrinking land areas. These directly affect people in many aspects involving lifestyle, food production, and habitat. For instance, in 2019, many people in Mekong Delta lacked freshwater for domestic and manufacturing purposes as climate change made drought and saltwater intrusion record levels in this region. Hence, climate change almost certainly is a foremost environmental problem. Some might claim that the main environmental issue is the disappearance of particular kinds of animals and plants. Each species plays an essential role in the food chain; for example, if one disappears, other species will lose their food supply and downsize gradually. Moreover, this can cause an imbalance in nature since the loss of animals at the top chain such as tigers and lions may increase the numerous rabbits, goats, and other herbivores. As a result, they will consume many farm produce and cause food scarcity. Although this argument may have some value, the loss of particular kinds of plants and animals could be a small contribution to short of food supplies. Climate change and its associated problems are significant since it threatens the existence of life on the planet. It affects human health based on the exchange of matter and energy between the body and surrounding environments. For example, prolonged heatwaves and increasing temperature can raise the risks to those diseases who have heart diseases, neurological, and allergies. So, there are no more significant issues than preventing climate change. Therefore, it seems reasonably clear that the existence of particular species of plants and animals is not a main environmental problem while there still have other important concerns such as serious consequences and huge challenges of climate change. By confronting and solving these challenges, people will be more advanced and be able to adapt flexibly.