Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is possible to say that the rapid increase in issues relating to the natural environment is the burning question of the day. The reality that some species of flora and fauna are on the verge of extinction is considered by many people to be the largest environmental problem, but other do not. In my opinion, climate change is the most urgent issue facing us today. On the one hand, our habitat is not only heavily affected by climate change, but other environmental issues also originate here. For example, heat waves, storms, floods and droughts may endanger the survival of animals, ruin vegetation, result in the loss of livelihoods and have a significant impact on the quality of our life. Furthermore, the weather phenomena could get worse, if remedial action is not promptly taken. Obviously, climate change is a serious threat to our eco- living. On the other hand, some people believe that the gradual disappearance of many plant and animal species is the biggest challenge today. The prime reason for this claim is that some rare species that are threatened with dying out break the ecological balance of the Earth. Take the bushfires in Australia as an example: the consequences of this include the disappearance of billions of animals and millions of hectares of forest. In fact, if this situation places thoughtful concern for the ecosystem, it is because when one element is destroyed, all living organisms may also be affected. In conclusion, the view points of both sides have a common characteristic, which is that they are aware that the Earth, our collective home, is being damaged daily. After all, climate change has a large number of corollaries, including a noticeable reduction in vegetation and animals. As a result, we protect each other before it is too late.