Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether we are more independent or dependent in such a modern world. While it is true that we now cannot live without others’ contributions, I believe that we lead a more independent life than before. There could be two main reasons for the argument in favour of dependent life. With the development of industry, people mostly focus on a specific field, which means that without others’ efforts the necessity or the entertainment equipment, such as food, clothes and smartphones, cannot be attained. Besides that, the services also prove the connections between the supplier and the consumer. For example, shopping online is a usual consumption habit for most modern people, especially for young adults, it is others that deliver the commodities to the consumers. That is to say, in modern society, living alone seems to be unrealistic. On the other hand, advanced technologies provide opportunities for citizens to avoid communicating face to face. Activities that had to be completed in person can be finished through the Internet. For instance, more people prefer to buy goods online, since it is more convenient, redundant and cheaper. In the meanwhile, learning online has become an ordinary way for most students to have access to education. In this way, it is more flexible to absorb knowledge, particularly for the adults who have jobs during the day. When it comes to occupation, independence seems to be more obvious. In some companies, employees are allowed to work from home or elsewhere. The communication between colleagues is reduced, and the contact between the staff and their managers is fewer as well. In conclusion, although we living rely on others’ efforts to some extent, I believe that we are more independent because of advanced equipment than we were used to.