Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Recently, numerous cities are being developed for various purposes. Although some claim that cities should be attractive to boost their local economy, others argue that the service of a city other than beauty is more relevant for the well-being of the inhabitants. On the one hand, many may believe that urban areas should be beautified. The principal reason for this is to increase the local economy. A well-decorated city attracts more tourists, unlike those that are not decorated. If tourists visit such cities, it will help build their economic status. For example, the city of Lagos is known for its beautiful gardens,resorts and beachfront. This planned beauty has increased tourists annually and also became a place of highly influential people. On the other hand, other individuals believe that the service is the most important aspect of a city's development. A city should have basic amenities such as educational institutions, health facilities and good transport networks to serve the people. Consequently, this will improve the standard of living of residents. For instance, Beijing is one of the best cities in the world due to its provision of leading basic facilities to sustain life. Furthermore, functional towns are more attractive options for businesses and companies to run efficiently and boost the economy which later can help create a beautiful place. Therefore, in planning a city, the focus should be given to its functionality. In conclusion, although, beautifying a city is beneficial in terms of increasing the economy. I am of the opinion that the components of a city surpass beauty. This is because the basic infrastructure will make an impact on the well-being of the people.